Last Debutante

Author(s): Lesley Lokko

General Fiction

A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset.

As the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups.

But the arrival of a German visitor one evening soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .

$34.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

After various careers from cocktail waitress to kibbutz worker, Lesley Lokko trained as an architect, but always dreamt of writing. She lives in Johannesburg. Find out more at www.lesleylokko.com

General Fields

  • : 9781409142546
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Orion
  • : December 2016
  • : 235mm X 156mm X 26mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lesley Lokko
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 336